The one and only

Seriously, my Melissa is a unique and amazing human being.

I’ve been around for at least what I consider a while. Sure to the older folks, 21 years plus a little seems like a blink as I’m not even half your age, but I’ve spent a lot more time than the average 21-year-old thinking and pondering life and the world we live in. One of the many conclusions I’ve come to, then boiled down all the excess from, is that as a good general blanket statement about the world, we humans don’t think enough. Yes that’s a simple idea in and of itself, but think of the ramifications of that statement. Think about how different the world we live in would be if we all just thought about things a little more. So many poor decisions could be eliminated with the simple act of taking a moment more than is usual to consider the repercussions of actions before taking them. How many lives could be saved and how many accidents could be prevented by simply thinking logically through things before we do them?

I apologize for my being sidetracked by how much more I tend to think about things than most people my age or possibly any age on this rock we call Earth. That is not to say I always make the most logical and reasonable decision, but generally, when I make a poor decision I first acknowledge that it is a poor decision and decide to follow through with it anyway. Such is my weakness. But even so, if I make a poor decision and someone else makes the same poor decision without much thought, I still consider my decision to be better educated and therefore a better decision overall.

Back to the topic after which I have named this entry (as that is my main purpose for naming things, to make sure I at least address that which I initially intended.) My girl is simply awesome. I don’t mean that in the sense that the Ninja Turtles use it (although it’s perfectly applicable here) but in the direct definition of the word: “causing wonder and astonishment.” I am still baffled at my incredible luck in finding such an awesome girl as Melissa is for me. That’s not to say that either she or I am the perfect being, but I am saying that from what I’ve gathered in my stay on the planet that I refer to as life, I have never met anyone that I’ve had even close to the emotional/spiritual/physical connection as I do to this girl.

A lot of people may hassle me/us or not understand the age difference between us, but I can assure you that there is (as best as my experience can judge) no one else out there that is a better match for either of us. Melissa is the first person I’ve met in my life that I can be completely straight/myself with and know that everything will be alright.

Everyone is different to different people. Of course I don’t tell my parents or my brother or my best friends everything about myself or all the same things. It’s regretful that I’m a different person around different people, but that’s how we are as humans and I’m prepared to defend myself against any contrary argument that the way we are is a reasonable way to be. An example would be the way people act around children. Many people swear and cuss, but hold their tongues in this department around children because it’s better for us to set a good example by not doing such things around them. This is just one among many examples I can mention on this topic, if you’re more interested, ask me in person and I will expound upon this topic for you.

Regardless, we as people get very good at wearing different masks around different people and the person that I have found that I don’t have to wear a mask around is Melissa. No matter what I do or who I am, she accepts and loves me for who I am. I am/do my best to be the same way with her. Sure she will do petty things on occasion that irritate or bug me, but then when I step back and think about it, I still love her and care all the same and whatever bugged me is gone and irrelevant. All of this comes back to the whole thing I said above about just thinking more. If we’d all step back and think more, everything would make a lot more sense and poor decisions would likely be less frequent.

To close things off (as I have a comfy bed that calls my name), Melissa, (to quote Incubus) “you’re an exception to the rule, you’re a bonafide rarity, you’re all I ever wanted.” Seriously. As lame as it may sound, I mean it all. There is no other source that I have found to give me such a euphoric and incredible feeling of well-being as Melissa. If everyone had a Melissa, the world would be a much happier place. I firmly believe that.

Leave a comment